Bistro Pazzo
"Your friendly neighborhood Italian Bistro"
Reviews
1/22/2016
First time eats...If your not looking to break the bank while in La Jolla and have a good italian dish, this is
a good choice. We went for lunch and for $12. $14. you can pick b/w a panini sandwich or full entry.  
Small place, but offers additional seating outside.  Our server was very good. If you have to use the
restroom you have to go through the kitchen, lol, which I actually liked ! I was very surprised to taste the
turkey burger my wife had ordered which was Amazing, and Im not turkey burger guy. Very jucy and
tender..Nice place  !
Joe S.

12/2/2015
Fantastic food in a warm and intimate atmosphere. The food melts in your mouth from the homemade
croutons and crispy Caesar salad to the delectable special, butternut squash ravioli.  The girls had fresh
trout and salmon and ate every delectable morsel with a smile of joy.
Peter K.

10/30/2015
The food is delicious.  All four of us ordered different dishes and all were wonderful!
Emily E.

10/15/2015
We were on vacation in LaJolla , San Diego . We did a lot of exploring/walking endlessly , exhausted, and
hungry . Since it's our last day there, we decided to try this authentic Italian Restuarant Bistro Pazzo (
found on Yelp ) and were greeted promptly by this friendly owner name Seto . We ordered this light
crispy Calamari ( 50% off on any appetizers w/Yelp ) . My husband ordered spaghetti with meatballs
" meat-ta-balls "  as Seto humorously corrected us  . My husband's cousin had lasagna and I had garlic
shrimp scampi with pasta noodles. All were perfectly prepared , generous size and very delizioso ! We
were so satisfied /happy and full that we had no room for desert...on our nxt visit for sure !
We'll recommend this restaurant to all of our friends .
Grazie mille for serving us Seto and making us feel special on our last day there
Linda D.

9/2015
Such a chill atmosphere, eating outside with the breeze. The Chicken Florentine was fantastic and easily
sharable.
Robert A.

2/2016
A family owned business and all great friends, it's some of the best Italian in lajolla!
Hal J.

3/2016
Best Italian food that I've had! Great waiter too!
Andrew Stott


9/1/2015
I eat here often and its always perfect!
Robbie S.

8/23/2015
Definitely a hidden gem. This place is a cute Italian restaurant right behind the main streets of La Jolla.
The food was fresh and full of flavors. The staff was also very friendly and attentive
Ana E.

8/22/2015
We started with a appetizer and we ordered the caviar which was fresh and crunchy and also the bread
was warm and delicious.   It was truly AMAZING.  Fantastic Italian food and service!  Me and my two
guest really love the food, and the atmosphere was great.  We will definitely be back soon.  It is a hour
from my home and well worth the trip.  Great food and service.  I will put it on my list for places when I
am in the neighborhood.  This place is adorable and very cozy and dark it gives you a romantic feeling.  
It's always great when your expectations are met.  Me and my guests had a great time at this restaurant
with the owner.  What a great guy.  We ordered the spaghetti and the salmon and the ravioli all were
excellent.  I can't wait to try all new things when I go back there.  Please try this restaurant you will not be
disappointed.  Thank you for the GREAT experience.
Mr. S

8/22/2015
Delicious food, specially their tomato sauce... The mushroom appetizer is a must, the bruschetta is
crunchy and taste and the grill salmon was perfectly cooked and delicious
Sandra U.

8/16/2015
This is a little off the beaten path, close to the La Jolla Post Office, so it is not as hectic as some other La
Jolla restaurants. We dined on the outside patio, perfect evening. The waiter warmly greeted us, served
bread with a great pesto sauce. We ordered spinach salad (great) and caesar salad (ok), along with
eggplant parma (great) and ravioli (ok). It has the same ambiance as being in Italy. A delightful evening!
SanDiegoBJ

8/11/2015
Absolutely delicious...we ordered the lobster bisque, a caesar, and chicken parm! Thanks so much for
making our last night a great one! A wonderful La Jolla find!
Four S.

8/7/2015
Our family has been traveling Southern California for the last two weeks. All of us agree that we saved the
best for the last night. The Caprese salad and fried artichokes with pesto aioli were super fresh and
delicious. The lasagne was definitely a secret family recipe. Every bite was just the right amount of fresh
pasta, sauce, cheese, and meat. Each dish is made just the way you want it. They will even prepare small
plates for the children. Quiet patio dining experience that reminds you of eating with family and friends
in Italy. Don't forget to save room for the homemade tiramisu and crème brûlée!
Lorie M.

7/26/2015
While visiting La Jolla, friends took us to this hidden Gem located off the main "Prospect" drag.

We were greeted by Seto, the owner. Seto helped us choose from the menu and was our waiter. Two of us
had the Salmon alla Griglia which was marvelous.

All of our food was fresh and well prepared. We were able to eat al fresco at the Bistro Pazzo's outside
tables. This allowed us to bring our dog to dinner.

For desert we had the Spumoni, very delish.....
Michael P.

7/26/2015
Scrumptious! Four of us walked away very happy from this dining experience. We sat outside and didn't
know what to expect from this small Italian restaurant. We were warmly welcomed. Then we had done
wonderful bread with pesto olive oil dip. Perfect start. Apps were on point. Lobster bisque, bruschetta,
and salads were all real good. The entrees were savory. We had lasagna, spaghetti, and chicken marsala.
The best chicken marsala ever. Well done with nice personal touches.
Phil D.

7/16/2015
I've had a few things on the menu from here and I've never had a bad thing.  The Minestrone soup is the
best soup I've ever had, Anywhere!  And I'm very picky so that's saying a lot!  And their Italian bread!
Yum!!  Staff is awesome! Especially Christina!!!  I work in the area so every time I go in she is there!  I
think she must live there! LOL.  I highly recommend this quaint, family owned and operated Bistro.
Jennifer S.

7/8/2015
This was a true gem of a find. Nice family atmosphere and good service. They have an extensive menu
with special items on certain days. We loved the clam and oysters! Great service and great food, will be
back.
Gohar S.

7/8/2015
Loved this little restaurant. Very homey, delicious, and great service!!! The food was delicious! I can't get
over it, as a matter of fact the friends I attended with can't get over the fact that we found this little place.
There should be another location in Orange County. Our waitress was great, we did wait a little while to
be seated (seemed like she was the only one in the front) but we didn't mind.

I plan on going back soon! Great Place to dine and have a nice, quiet night out with friends, family, or
your significant other.
Gloria A.

7/3/2015
What a great find in La Jolla!  My bf and I were looking for a new Italian place and I'm so happy we gave
this one a try even though there were only 71 reviews on Yelp.  I highly recommend this place if you're
looking for a great restaurant that's off the beaten path yet oh so close to Prospect Street.  

Was the experience perfect?  No.  So I could not give it a full 5 stars.  I wish I could give this place 4.5
stars though cause the food was very, very good.  

They served us a warm, freshly baked Italian loaf with a very tasty olive oil, parsley, and red pepper dip.  
I give the bread A+ and the dip A.  My bf and I shared a caesar salad.  The restaurant was kind enough to
split the salad for us.  The salad itself was just ok.  I give it a B+.  Not the best Caesar salad I've ever had.  
However, the croutons were delicious.    They must make the croutons in-house because I've never tasted
croutons like these before.  

My bf ordered one of the day's specials... Veal tortellini with red sauce.  He raved about the veal
tortellini.  He gave the dish an A- because he wished he ordered the meat sauce with it.  I tasted the
sauce.  It was rich with tomatoes and garlic... flavors that they balanced so right I wanted to finish the
sauce.   I thought it worked but I don't eat red meat so I don't know how much the meat could have
added to it.

I ordered the cioppino, which is my go-to seafood dish.  I loved the portion.  It was just right.   Too many
restaurants try to compensate for poor flavor with large portions.  This one was definitely not big in size
but the flavors and ingredients were spot on.  The tomato broth was so good--it was light yet rich--I wish
I had a second loaf of bread to sop it all up.  I give it a solid A.  

Overall, the only so-so part of the meal was the Caesar salad and that wasn't really bad.
Sam G.


6/25/2015
Nice and quiet, Italian family style dishes, decent price..
T. S.

6/20/2015
Authentic and delicious, but a bit pricey for what it is. I had the roasted beets as an appetizer and then
the seared halibut, which came with fresh pasta tossed in a wonderful tomato sauce on the side, as my
entree. Total came to $50 after tip, for one person. The beets were roasted well, and the balsamic glaze it
was tossed in was the perfect level of acidity. The halibut tasted fresh, although I wish the sear was a bit
more prominent. The pasta, or more specifically the sauce, was delicious and simple. Good taste, great
service, but not sure it was worth the price tag.
Melinda L.

6/6/2015
My husband, son (5 years old)  and I dined at Bistro Pazzo on the last night of our recent trip to La Jolla
at the recommendation of our hotel.  The street is quiet and there was only one other couple when we got
there, so we were apprehensive when we walked up - - but were we in for a treat!  The food was delicious
and the owner was friendly and helpful. I had the special that evening - lobster ravioli and it was great! I
would certainly go back for more.
Lindsay W.

6/1/2015
Best lasagna I've ever had. Stopped by with some friends on a Monday night and we almost went
somewhere else because there were only 2 people eating at the time. SO GLAD we stayed. Great staff,
great food.
Evan O.


5/26/2015
We had a great dinner and enjoyed the environment.  This is a restaurant that you do not want to miss!
Robert R.

5/23/2015
Best Cioppino! the broth was perfect...not too spicy, yet deep with seafood flavor.  Each piece of meat was
perfect, the shrimp, fish, scallop, clam...cooked perfectly!  The risotto verde was amazing as well.  At our
table of 8 everyone was happy with their selections.  Next time we eat Italian in La Jolla it will be here.  
And btw...Happy Birthday Seto!  Awesome meal.  Mahalo nui!
RO F.

5/13/2015
This place have friendly staff and the owner is nice. We come here for our Italian and pasta cravings. The
portions are pretty good size and are so delicious that I always finish my plate. This restaurant is in
walking distance from our place of business and we bring our staffs to eat here. I love the idea that you
can dine in fresco style. I highly recommend them. Try them out when you're in the area.
Jimmy J.

2/18/2015
This place in La Jolla provides a good environment and good food. There are tables outside to feel the
warm weather. The waitress was very nice too. I got a delicious five cheese rigatoni and I recommend it.
Ana Z.

2/17/2015
This low key, relaxed local place serves the best authentic Italian food around! Everything is fresh,,
flavorful, and homemade. The owner, Seto, is welcoming and helpful. It is casual and not overpriced like
many La Jollla places. The wine list is great, and bottles are 1/2 price on Tuesday and Wednesday.
Susan N.

2/11/2015
I work in the village, and truly think this bistro is a perfect stop for a true Italian meal. Coming from
growing up near the North End of Boston, I am a hard critic for Italian, but wow this place is the real
deal. The setting is intimate and the food is authentic. All of the ingredients are fresh and everything I've
tried here is delicious. If I am in a rush, I love their takeout options. Perfect for if you work in the village
and need a quick bite to eat. The minestrone soup is to die for!!!!! Im not usually a seafood person, but I
have tried their calamari and it was fantastic.
The family that owns this place is absolutely wonderful. They offer great customer service, which is a
huge part of dining out. I give this place two thumbs up!
Kate Y.

2/13/2015
Absolutly amazing food. Very quiet outside area at night. Very good idea as a romantic date night. Six
stars for this awesome place for the best pasta ive ever had.
Kyle C.

2/7/15
You can't go wrong coming here . . . wow, what can I say, but "Go!" After several visits, I can say that I
have not been disappointed in the flavorful Italian dishes along with the personal service that the owner
puts forth to every customer who comes to Bistro Pazzo. The guy is great and really makes everyone feel
welcomed to come eat at his tables.
Had the Pazzo Salad, Scallops, and the Lobster Ravioli and all three were fantastic. Topped off with a
very nice Tiramisu and an item not found on the menu because it is in limited supply - the Lemon Cake is
out of this world, wow!
Nice atmosphere, off the beaten path with many of the "locals" coming here to enjoy the each other's
company along with great food and service . . .as noted, a 5/5 rating means this Favorite is a "must come
back" and will!
David

1/15/2015
Perfect neighborhood spot for a wonderful meal. Try the lasagna, spaghetti bolognese or the daily special.
Betty H.

1/14/2015
Had a light lunch with my nephew Rob when he visited. Had the mushroom appetizer again. Another
good experience.
Peter C.

12/30/2014
This is the BEST Egg Plant Parmesan I have ever had. Outstanding Bruschetta and amazing Minestrone
Soup. Do not miss this.
Yona L.

10/30/2014
I absolutely love this place!!!! Hands down not only one of the best places to eat in the village but also
one of the most moderately priced. The customer service here is phenomenal and the chef is incredible. I
am a pesto fanatic and this place serves up the best pesto chicken pasta I have ever had. I also love the
spinach vinaigrette salad and the caprese. I am a big eater so I would like the dishes to be just a bit bigger.
Overall, A++++, must try.
Ashley M.

9/26/2014
Very nice place, owner provided great personal service. I would come here again. Great food!
Ken H.

9/17/2014
We had dinner 9-15-2014 here with Dan and Kristen.  Christina, Seto's daughter, did an excellent job as
our server.  Seto was the chef tonight as the regular chef has Mondays off.  Once again, the food was
plentiful (we brought some home) and delicious.  The place was full, we sat outside as the weather was
perfect. They continue to serve an excellent bread, that they get from a bakery up in Orange County, with
their home-made pesto sauce.  Our 7th visit here in 2014!
Peter C.

9/13/2014
We found this charming little bistro in La Jolla on a side street from the main strip. Our waiter let us
know
that they had just gotten in very fresh clams and halibut that day. Since my wife loves halibut, she
couldn’t resist ordering the seared halibut and I ordered the pasta with clams. We also ordered Ceaser
salad which was incredible and was clearly freshly made. While waiting for the appetizer they bring
foccacia bread with a wonderful basil and olive oil. The pasta with clams was cooked to perfection and
the halibut was very tasty and tender. Overall, Bistro Pazzo had friendly service from Santo our waiter
and also a great atmosphere and if we ever go back to La Jolla, we will definitely visit Bistro Pazzo again.
TripAdvisor Ontario

8/21/2014
Great food and fun. Ate outside and was veryenjoyable. The owner was at out table several times
and even helped serve us. The staff was friendly.Would highly recommend this place and would go back
again. It was a great night for walking around after the meal.
Vicky Sue A.

8/2/2014
Stumbled across this lovely charming little bistro while exploring LaJolla. The server was wonderful...
giving us great suggestions for lunch. Fun to talk and laugh with! Food was great, atmosphere sitting in
the small garden was lovely watching people go by and the priceperfect! A great find!
Betty W

7/11/2014
Finally got a chance to eat here and wasn't disappointed.   Artichoke appetizer,  lasagna, creme brûlée.  
Everything was exceptional and comfortable on the patio.  Looking forward to going back and bringing
friends. The real deal.
Sd E.

7/9/2014
Ate outside, just a bit off the beaten track, so notoverly noisy. Food was freshly made, served very hot
and delicious. The owner served us and could not havebeen nicer! There were five of us and every single
one of us would order the dish we got again. We had a delightful experience!
TripAdvisor Illinois

7/8/2014
Best pesto you'll ever taste, lobster bisque is wonderful, Pollo Piccata to die for! Definitely a place to go
when you're in La Jolla. Seto does a great job!
Hayden S.

7/4/2014
Wonderful lunch 4th of July on a side stret near our secret parking spot. Prosciutto and summer melon.
Limoncello cake heavenly. Excellent spinach salad and pollo marsala w pasta and brocolli
accompaniments.Good music euro and r and b. Sidewalk tables and indoor dining. Small. Great value.
Mike

6/12/2014
Visited the bistro on June 12,2014 and had a greatdinner. Menu has just enough options to please
everyone. Service was fantastic and food was wellprepared. Best of all is this is a locally owned
restaurant, the owner was actually my waiter and tookthe time to make sure we enjoyed our meal. You
could just tell that he goes the extra mile to make sure hispatrons have a great dining experience. I highly
recommend the Bistro Pazzo
Steve


6/2/2014
Excellent little bistro to have lunch outside in La Jolla. Just off the beaten path at Ivanhoe and C
We had an absolutely delicious arugula salad with goat cheese, walnuts and beets. We added some
chicken which was lightly grilled. We also had their calamari appetizer which is as it is
billed - lightly breaded - served with a wonderful dipping sauce. One of the only fried calamari dishes
I've ever had where you could actually taste the calamari and not the fried breading. So glad we stumbled
upon this place!
Jean S

6/1/2014
The best Italian food in La Jolla.  Family owned, greatservice and terrific food. Eat there at least once a
week and its always great!
Chris A.

4/2/2014
My favorite italian restaurant in sandiego. we travel from del mar. love the cioffi salad, the pasta, the
atmosphere, the service, the owner etc.
Stuart G.

3/27/2014
Love this place! Great food and atmosphere.
Josh

1/9/2014
We recently moved and now are only 2 blocks from Seto's place.  Had dinner there on January 8, 2014; I
had Sea Bass with a lemon/butter sauce and mixed vegetables; Rhonda had a meatball pasta dish.  Also
had a bottle of Pinot Grigio; it was half price Wednesday for wine bottles as many La Jolla places
now have.  Once again great food, wine and service.
Peter C.

10/10/2013
Really, really good! They made whatever we wanted,even if not on the menu! Server rocked! Can't wait to
come back...
Andre P.

7/6/2013
Outstanding little place, away from the mainstream! Had the Rigatoni al Salsiccie, very tasty!  And the
prices are very reasonable, unusual for overpriced La Jolla.  Highly recommended-
Lee C.

6/15/2013
Glad I found this spot! It was a great way to end a fabulous day at the cove. Quite location with great
menu. Pizzas are affordable and tasty. I couldn't finish mine but I enjoyed the leftovers the following
evening.Would go back for sure. The table next to mine hadsome great scallops, I overheard how pleased
they were.
Emily H.

6/12/2013
Went to this place about a month ago, and loved the food while having the best service!  My boyfriend
and I were hanging out in La Jolla, and decided to go to this restaurant because it had good yelp reviews.  
Well, it definitely lived up to it.  

We ate on the patio to enjoy the nice weather, and once it got cold our server turned on the heater since
we were getting chilly.

We started with the Mozzarella Caprese, Pepperoni Pizza, and I think a fish special.  The food was very
flavorful.

I really liked the ambiance, and it felt family ownedand run.  They even brought out some tiramisu for my
birthday :)
Gina F.

4/29/2013
As a frequent patron, I have enjoyed the great food and relaxed atmosphere here. I've always had a good
experience here, and all my dinners have been excellent, typically we'll visit once ever two weeks or
so, and sit outside if it's a nice day.  Located off a quiet street, it's one of those hidden gems off the beaten
path in La Jolla.
Steve B.


8/9/2012
Great place! Never had any problems with the food. It taste amazing. The owner is very nice and
attentive. I'm glad I found this cozy little place!
Alex S.

7/29/2012
I'm surprised by the mixed reviews. Owner is very friendly.  Liked the pesto bread spread.  I had the
scampi, and the sauce was light and delicious. The shrimp was tender and fresh!  The calamari was
golden and perfect...our family ordered two orders.  Kids loved their pasta and chicken.  The best part:  I
forgot to put cash in the parking thingy, and the owner let me run through the kitchen to do it before I
got a ticket, and the kitchen was spotless! Gotta love that!
Nicole M.

4/15/2012
Just enjoyed a nice meal at Bistro Pazzo.  Warm bread with a pesto to die for, beet salad, veal raviolis
with mushroom sauce, followed by tiramisu.  All accompanied with nice wines.  Thanks Seto and
Anthony.  We will be back!
Lisa C.

2/20/2012
I look forward to this place every time I get off work, the lobster bisque has got to be one of my favorite
meals here. The restaurant is family owned, and extremely well maintained and has a great atmosphere. I
have been to a handful of Italian restaurants throughout San Diego, and have to say this is my favorite
hands down. I recommend this place to my co-workers and they all agree, its top notch.Definitely going
to be coming back shortly.
Hal J.

1/2/2012
Had a quiet enjoyable dinner on New Year's Eve.  Great package.  Good for. Good service.  What a way
to start the New Year.  We will support this Bistro all year.
Bob D.

10/11/11
This place was recommended to us by La Valencia Hotel concierge.  She is on the money.  We will come
back.  
Talie

10/1/2011
Best marinara sauce.  Perfectly done.  Awesome place.
NY

9/13/2011
This place should be packed every day.  The food is great.  
Sam

8/31/11
What a cute restaurant.  Great food & great service.  Best scallops I have ever had.  Thank you, thank you,
thank you.
Crowd from Tucson, A

8/24/11
Best Italian restaurant in La Jolla.  
JR

4/30/2011
Had our wedding reception at Bistro Pazzo.  Had a great time.  Good food!  Good service!  What a deal!  
Thank you Seto!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
EG

2/14/2011
Great Valentines package.  Quiet romantic dinner.  
Thank you.
Eric & Tina

12/31/2010
Awesome NY dinner.  No music.  Who needs entertainment when you have Seto as your host.  We
had a great time.
Andrew

8/12/2010
Cute patio.  Great food.  Great service.  Great prices.
George

7/10/2010
Catered food for my family reunion from Bistro Pazzo.  The food was great and a great value.  Definitely
recommend this place. Thank you.
Chris

5/14/2010
Our wedding rehearsal dinner was fabulous.  The bestfood we had in four days in California from Texas.  
Thank you.  
Debbie

3/31 /2010
Best birthday party I ever had.  Seto really knows how to throw a birthday party.  We will never forget this
year.
Mary

3/6/2010
Staying at La Valencia Hotel.  A local guy told us Bistro Pazzo has the best Lobster Bisque.  He was right.
Cute little bistro with great service.
The gang from Georgia

2/14/2010
Great Valentines package.  Cute little place. We loved it.  
Lisa

1/30/2010
The owner takes care of you for service.  So much lovein service and dedication to perfection.  You have
to feel for the guy.  
JP

1/2/2010
This is the best place we had dinner in La Jolla.  Wespent so much money at other places for an average
dinner.  This was super for less money.  What a deal.
AZ

12/10/2009
We had our Christmas Party at Bistro Pazzo.  Great value!!!! Great Food!!!! Great Service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
BW

8/27/2009
Another incredible meal at Bistro Pazzo! Enjoyed a fabulous shrimp scampi  over linguine today, what a
meal!  There is no place  for home cooking like Bistro Pazzo!
GN

8/3/2009
Great place for lunch during business hours.  Fast, fresh, good food with great prices.  It has become our
favorite place for our office employees.
Julie P.

7/31/2009
What a cute place.  Small but beautifully done.  Good food, great service, awesome prices.  Our new place
to eat one block away from our house.
MA & BA

7/24/09
The food is fantastic.  The service even better.  The owner is on the floor taking care of customers.  
WOW.  What a find.  We will be back.
TK

7/19/2009
Enjoyed a nice sunny day in La Jolla eating at Bistro Pazzo. Service was excellent, the food delicious.  If
you want a taste of heaven in paradise like La Jolla, this is the place to be. Prices are moderate for the
quality of food you are served. If you enjoy fine dining, cloth napkins, great service, I highly recommend
eating here.
George N.